Welcome to the Senate Standing Committee on Energy, Utilities and Communications

Committee meets every 1st, 3rd and 5th Tuesday at 9:00 a.m. in room 1200.

JURISDICTION: Bills relating to utilities, energy companies, alternative energy development and conservation, and communications development and technology.




For information on how to submit a position letter please see the directions below:

Advocacy Quick Reference Guide

Submit Position Letter

We encourage the public to submit written testimony before the hearing through the position letter portal. Please note that any written testimony submitted to the committee is considered public comment and may be read into the record or reprinted.

The Capitol and O Street building is open for in-person attendance of committee hearings.  Please utilize the teleconference service if you are experiencing any symptoms of COVID-19 or test positive.

The Senate strongly recommends that all members of the public wear a mask in all shared spaces in the Capitol and the 1021 O Street building. Masks are available at all security entrances.

Teleconference Instructions:

Information regarding a call-in option for testimony will be made available and updated the night prior to the hearing date.

Senate Committee on Energy, Utilities and Communications hearing call-in information for September 13, 2023:

Participant number: 1-877-226-8163

ACCESS CODE: 7362832

Please note: In order for your testimony to be heard clearly, you must mute any devices you are using to live stream the committee hearing prior to calling into the teleconference service. Please do not testify using speakerphone or bluetooth, this can cause acoustic feedback and make it very difficult to hear your testimony. 

  • Upon calling in, you will be placed in a “waiting room” where you will be muted but you can listen to the committee hearing as you wait.
  • When a committee moves to public comment, a moderator will ask for anyone who is wishing to testify in “Support” or “Opposition” of the bill to please press 1-0.   You should press 1-0 when you are prompted by the moderator. When you press 1-0 on your phone, you will wait and an operator will assign you a line number, at that time you will be placed in the queue for identification.  Remember your line number, the moderator will call out that number to identify YOU when it is your turn to testify.  OF IMPORTANT NOTE: If you press 1-0 a second time, you will remove yourself from the queue and you will not be identified to testify. Every time you press 1-0 you either put yourself “In queue” or take yourself “out of queue” so listen carefully, and press 1-0 only once when you are prompted by the moderator.
  • When you are successfully in the queue, with your assigned line number, the moderator will call out your line number, open your line, and at that time you may address the committee. You must have your own phone unmuted before you begin testimony.

A more detailed explanation of the teleconference instructions can be found by clicking the “Teleconference Instructions


Committee Contact Information

Committee phone:  (916) 651-4107

Committee Staff:

Nidia Bautista: nidia.bautista@sen.ca.gov
Sarah Smith: sarah.smith@sen.ca.gov
Melanie Cain: melanie.cain@sen.ca.gov

Please feel free to reach out should you need to communicate with the committee office.


14 Democrats and 4 Republicans

Senator Steven Bradford Senator Steven Bradford (Chair) 

Senator Brian Dahle  Senator Brian Dahle (Vice Chair)

Senator Angelique Ashby Senator Angelique V. Ashby

Senator Josh Becker  Senator Josh Becker

Senator Anna M. Caballero  Senator Anna M. Caballero

Senator Bill Dodd  Senator Bill Dodd

Senator María Elena Durazo  Senator María Elena Durazo

Senator Susan Talamantes Eggman  Senator Susan Talamantes Eggman

Senator Lena A. Gonzalez  Senator Lena A. Gonzalez

Senator Shannon Grove  Senator Shannon Grove

Senator Mike McGuire  Senator Mike McGuire

Senator Dave Min  Senator Dave Min

Senator Josh Newman  Senator Josh Newman

Senator Susan Rubio  Senator Susan Rubio

Senator Kelly Seyarto  Senator Kelly Seyarto

Senator Nancy Skinner  Senator Nancy Skinner

Senator Henry I. Stern  Senator Henry I. Stern

Senator Scott Wilk  Senator Scott Wilk



Committee Address